A story.

I was walking in a park one hot sunny day. The sky was perfectly clear. Just a small wind made the weather more pleasant. I sat on the bench, closed my eyes and enjoyed the perfect weather. After couple of minutes I decided to open them, and I’d never regretted doing it since that very moment.
There was an angel. Angel in a human form. Beautiful bright wavy red hair, perfectly white and gentle skin, and the most beautiful smile in the whole World. She was wearing a light summer dress in pale green squares. I couldn’t take my eyes of the most perfect body and face I have ever seen.
The girl was playing with her puppy; I could see the purest joy in the faces of both.
At that second I started believing in the love from the first sight, and I think anyone would if saw her.
I wanted to know her name, because I imagined it to be something as lovely as herself.
A single thought about making the first step towards her made me feel like I was chained to the bench. My heart started beating with an enormous speed, my hands were shaking, and I became just speechless; I had no idea what I’d say if I came up just like that to her, I felt like I just don’t deserve the attention of someone that perfect. Calming myself down was second hardest thing to do after coming there and talking to her. And I knew that I needed to do it fast, because she could leave at any moment.
When I just started feeling better and more confident, I saw a cute little puppy right at my feet. That was the second that has lasted forever for me. I was afraid to look up, and at the same time the desire to do it was killing me from the inside.
I decided to do it very slowly. Slowly looking up… And almost fainting from seeing the angel I’ve been looking at for the past half an hour. She looked even more perfect. I felt like stunned and just kept on looking at her. She smiled at me and said “I think Roger (the puppy) likes you. Do you mind if I sit down for a little?” All I could squeeze out of myself was a smile and a short “yes”. I kept on staring at her like an idiot, because for me it was just impossible not to. I think I looked like a serial maniac or someone like that because that look would creep anyone out. But not her… She just asked “Is everything ok, sir? You haven’t said anything so far, but are looking at me like there’s a lot that you would like to share.”
Finally. The moment of courage. I will speak to her. I will. I will! I opened my mouth and just let it be:
-I’ve been watching you from this bench all the time until you came here with your adorable little dog. I wanted to ask your name, but couldn’t do it for some time, because you are the most beautiful woman I’ve ever seen and I thought I just don’t deserve to know you name, – I sighed. The most important part was said, although not like I planned. I poured it out all on her, I guess she’s afraid of me now. Oh, I am such an idiot! – she interrupted my speedy flow of thoughts:
-Oh… – she blushed – That is unexpected. Thank you, though. I have never heard something so sincere and all of a sudden. My name is Aille (AWE-leh). Celtic origins. It means “beauty”.
I sighed again. Now it was a sigh of relief. I did it! She told me her name. And I was right, it sounded as beautiful as herself. And her voice… No music needed, just her talking would make a perfect lullaby for a little child, so tender it was.
-Of course your name would mean something like that, – I said smiling, – My name is Einar. It’s Norse for “Lone warrior”. I tried to keep a calm face, but I hardly could; everything inside of me was slowly melting and I thought of myself like a shy school girl, which was kind of shameful for a 27-year-old man with a brilliant career and life.
And she was just smiling. I never got my eyes of her and talked to her on any possible topic for 2 or 3 hours, when I realized that she needed to go. I took her hands, and with eyes full of hope asked her:
-Will I see you again? I would very much love to have your company anywhere I or you would want to go.
She blushed again. “ Yes, I wouldn’t mind having your company either, and if I am there you wouldn’t be alone”, – She took a pen out of her little purse and wrote down some numbers on my hand. I did my best not to show that it was shaking so much.
-Well, good bye, Einar, – said she, – I hope to see you again.
I took her hand, kissed it, felt the most tender and gentle skin, looked into her eyes again, and said:
-See you again soon, Beauty.
We smiled to each other, and then she left with her puppy.
I stayed on the bench for a little more, and then went back home as well, drunk with happiness, thanking the Lord for this amazing day, and thinking what the next meeting could bring.

Leave a Reply

