Wooden berth

You unravel the knot,

The knot that I am.

Useless to resist an axe

When I am tied.

A new sensation,

A new feeling.

I am free, and yet

I want to tie myself again.

You walk away into the rain

I cannot hear your barefoot steps

On the wooden berth;

Only seagulls

And the boat you set freewheeling

Into the upcoming storm.

I will continue crumbling after the axe strike

And watch my boat get crushed by waves.

I know, you will keep walking,

Raindrops will hide the steps you take;

They will wash all of your traces away

Before the first wave hits the berth

And wrecks the last of us.

Leave a Reply

