My worst enemy

Withering smiles,
The sunset  of my future.
I keep watching the wind
Taking the essence
Of what I am and used to be.
Pour the memories
Over my eyes;
It’s not tears,
Just the wind,
Cold wind.
I always tear up
When the wind is cold.
Your hands are the cello notes
That squeeze my heart
Every time the melody
Touches my ears.
I keep walking towards
The edge of the abyss
That tries to engulf me
With every touch,
Every look.
I end up being
My worst enemy,
Engaging into a fight with myself
Without a chance to win.
Sinking in the bog
Of my past,
Of your past.
So shift the gears,
Let the engine ignite.
And if it stalls,
I’d be the brake
That never works.
As always…

Leave a Reply

